The Importance of Schedule

Writer's Stop
Writer’s Stop (Photo credit: Stephh922)

One thing a writer learns immediately upon publication is the importance of keeping a consistent writing schedule. Even before publication it’s important to keep a consistent writing schedule. Still, there’s nothing quite as inspiring as an editor reminding you that you only have X amount of weeks left to finish your 80,000 word manuscript!

Why am I posting about this? Because even writers with the best intentions have trouble sticking to a consistent writing schedule.  It’s not because they’re lazy or don’t like to work…honestly, there are a few reasons. 2 majors come immediately to mind. 

1. Many writers have day jobs. Unless a writer is in the right mindset, it’s often difficult to come home after working all day, then sit behind the computer to write. We love writing, but it’s still work. For over a year I complained that I couldn’t write in the evening after work, that I had to write in the morning when

I was at my most fresh. While all that complaining and justifying was happening no books were getting written. Now, my personal routine is to go to the gym after work, give myself an hour to get all those positive endorphins going, go home and eat and chill for another hour, so that by the time I’m back behind the computer I feel refreshed and ready to rock it. Usually though, I spend an additional ten minutes on Facebook, feeling triumphant just to have made it back behind the computer! But once I’m settled in I get my word count in.

2. Family and Friends! Yes, we love them but they can be a real hinderance to getting any writing done. I’d say nearly all authors have dealt with family members and friends who think that since an author “authors” at home they can get up and leave the computer at any time to go run errands, shop or do something fun! Authors can, but if they do, that book will NEVER get written. It’s up to the writer to set aside time each day for writing. It’s also up to the writer to inform family and friends when that time is so they’re aware when you’re working. The works not done there, though. The biggest & most important part of this equation is that the writer has to stick to their guns when opportunities to play arise. Loved ones won’t be angry (at least most of them won’t) as long as you explain that you need X amount of hours each morning or night to devote to writing. I take between 2 – 3 hours each night. I also try to be finished by the time my sig other gets home so we have time together…although tonight is an epic fail as. It’s nearly 11 and I’m writing this & he’s on his computer five feet away doing promo stuff. Well, at least we’re in the same room!

Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

